My second family

I don’t know about you, but I’m secretly glad the school holidays are over. Not because I don’t love being with my kids (honest!). And certainly not because I don’t love the occasional lie-ins, opportunistic ice creams, lazy days in the garden and not having to make packed lunches (the smell of Branston Pickle just seems to linger on my fingers all day…). But because I miss my mum friends.

In the holidays, it’s not just school that stops, it’s all the associated activities too. It’s the special needs kids’ group on a Friday morning. It’s a chinwag with the other mums during ballet class or swimming lessons. It’s a smile (and maybe even a hug) at the school gate. With no family nearby, during the holidays I really can go a whole day without having an adult conversation.

My husband is brilliant. He’s my life partner, my biggest helper and best friend. He’s great at fixing things. But he’s not great at feelings. By which I mean, he responds in a perfectly sensible way when I voice my feelings, just not in the way that I want him to. By which I mean, he’s a typical bloke and I’m a typical woman. For feelings, I need my mum friends.

Thank God, then, for SWAN. My second family. SWAN (Syndromes Without A Name) UK is not just a term-time organisation. It’s not just a nine-to-five organisation. It’s a support and a lifeline 24/7, 365 days a year.

Most of SWAN’s members I have never met, am never likely to meet. (One or two I have found do live near us and it has been amazing to meet them and chat like old friends, to get local advice from parents further down this crazy path we’re treading. I treasure their friendship especially). Yet, in a world where mums (and dads) are increasingly isolated, and special needs mums especially so, I really do feel like these virtual strangers-who became acquaintances-who became Facebook friends-who became real friends, have become family. I look forward to the ‘ping’ of a message from them or the ‘bzzz’ of a new post on the secret SWAN group. We share each other’s problems and successes, pain and joy. We egg each other on in wild (half serious) plans to run away to a private island with suitcases of chocolate and gin. When one of us is hurting, genuinely, we all hurt.

My head is full of SWAN stories. Happy stories, sad stories, heart-breaking stories. Stories of love, and loss, of waiting and fearing and fighting and celebrating each and every tiny inchstone our incredible children achieve. Of parents pushed to the brink and sometimes beyond. My heart is burned with images of SWAN children and families. Children smiling, children in hospital. Parents battling and parents buckling. Siblings sharing, families surviving. All people of inspiring strength and beauty. Often when I get a moment to think – perhaps when I’m driving, or when I’m supposed to be writing – I find myself thinking of those SWAN families who are going through tough times, reliving their stories in my head, maybe saying a little prayer that they find some relief.

Haven’t I got enough to worry about with my own family, without getting involved in the cares and concerns of all these other families as well? Absolutely not: because sharing their struggles gives me some much-needed perspective on my own worries, because sharing their fears lets me know that I am not alone, and because sharing and celebrating their successes gives us all a massive boost!

IMG_20170331_203204_914

Us SWAN mums (and SWAN dads – they may be fewer but they are hugely valued), we come from different ends of the country, different cultures, have different political affiliations, religious beliefs, parenting styles and aspirations. Even our SWAN children – the thing that we have in common – themselves may have nothing in common! (Although sometimes it’s tantalising to catch a glimpse of Benjamin in another child and think, just maybe, there’s a hint at an answer there). Perhaps it’s the lack of a shared experience that makes us feel such a, well, such a shared experience. Unlike the parents of children with, say Downs Syndrome, or ASD, or Cerebral Palsy, we’re not lumped together and assumed to have an instant bond. We came together and we built a bond.

If you are the parent of an undiagnosed child, this Friday, Undiagnosed Children’s Day is a great time to come and join us. If you know someone who is the parent of an undiagnosed child, please share this post with them. I’d love to hold your SWAN story in my heart too.

swan_ucd_2017_email_footer_v3-1

**this post was inspired by the SWAN UK April 2017 Instagram challenge (Day 22: Family), which culminates on #undiagnosedchildrensday #UCD17. I hope to write at least one post a week during April to link in with the challenge and to raise awareness of the great work SWAN UK does to support the families of children with ‘Syndromes without a name (SWANs)’. If you know a family with an undiagnosed child, please point them in this direction (https://www.undiagnosed.org.uk/). To donate to SWAN UK you can text SWAN11 £3 (or any amount up to £10) to 70070. Thank you**

3 thoughts on “My second family

  1. Love this. We have only just heard about swan and have only just started our journey with our baby girl and her condition. The unknown is something my husband and myself struggle with. She is progressing in movement slowly, staying the same in some areas however her chest muscles are regressing and knowing about swan and knowing there are other parents not knowing the future or who have ‘good endings’ if that makes sense, fills me with hope and makes me realise I’m not alone!

    Like

Leave a Reply

