Reblog: It took me 30 years to make myself heard

This lady is incredible – to show no bitterness about all those years of frustration, only confidence and hope for the future. What an inspiration.

Scope's Blog

Guest post by Mandy, 49, from Hereford. Mandy used to live in a care home and spent years fighting for the right to live independently. For the first 30 years of Mandy’s life, staff caring for her thought she had no awareness of the outside world. When someone finally realised how much she understood, she started taking control of her life. 

I was born in Warwickshire in 1965. I have cerebral palsy and use a motorised wheelchair, as well as a communication device which I operate with the back of my hand.

I did not get this device until I was 30 years old. Until then, I had no way of communicating except with my eyes and facial expressions.

Mandy at home, with photos of friends and family on the wall behind her Mandy at home, with photos of friends and family on the wall behind her

Decisions made for me

I went to boarding school and then to a residential college in Devon. This…

View original post 500 more words

Leave a Reply

